sentiments, nostalgia, and my free heart.

something curious led me into a catching up sort of conversation with an old college friend today. something expected led me into an afternoon chat over coffee with a familiar friend. and then something surprising gave us the opportunity to jump in deeper into a new friendship tonight over supper.

hearts are so fragile, but human spirits are so strong. they have endurance far bigger than my brain can even comprehend.

by the end of this day, my heart is mixed with emotions, burdened for friends in a process, that i can only do so much for and hopeful for a positive outcome in their lives. but my spirit has been dancing. dancing with such a precious little joy that these friends have let me into their lives, trusted me with their thoughts and given me the opportunity to be myself in their worlds.

it’s amazing the depth of love you can feel for someone else.

at the same time, little by little, i am learning how to love myself better, which i think in turn has made me so available to open my arms in this season and show love.

each day i learn a little more of what it means to refuse condemnation on myself. what it means to offer myself grace. and what it means to not judge myself. i can live free, when i allow myself to mess up, when i allow myself to fall, when i allow myself to fail at something…i can live free when i focus my attention on the one who created me and his love for me, when i focus my attention on how i can love those around me and share his goodness.

i can live free when i choose to laugh.

i can live free when i choose to understand that i am in the process of becoming.

i can live free, when i let go of ridiculous expectations i’ve put on myself.

thankfully, i can live free. and i can get back to becoming the best version of me.

Leave a comment